Blanket Stew (take me away).

By zazazu

October 24, 2010

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment »

This is probably the best soup / stew I’ve ever made.  And it made the house smell absolutely divine.  The recipe is adapted from here.

I did not buy anything special for this stew.  I used what I had in the fridge.  True to the original post, it is a great way to use up things in the fridge that are about spent.  Into my stew went:

Butternut squash
White potatoes
White onion
Tomatoes
Zipper peas
Red lentils
Barley rice

Also, I did not use vegetable broth as the recipe says; I just used water.  Turned out divine.  I really think it is the gravy broth base that makes this recipe.

Definitely a keeper.  I’ll be making this all fall and winter long. 

*Topped with a dollop of sour cream and served with a side of seeded French bread.

One Response to “Blanket Stew (take me away).”

  1. That looks divine!!! Perfect autumn meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

